Workspaces Overview

Overview

Workspaces allow users to save queries, records, or bookmarks to queries in another workspace for easy retrieval. Workspaces can be shared spaces between members of a department, personal spaces per user, or system pages accessible by everyone. Workspaces are accessible from any screen in Axiom by clicking on the workspaces icon (four squares) at the top-right corner of the screen. On the page that appears, the user will see each of the workspaces that he or she has access to listed as tiles.

Workspaces Types

There are two types of workspaces: personal and shared.

Personal

A personal workspace is a workspace unique to an individual user. Personal workspaces can be customized and organized according to a user’s preferences. Aside from system administrators, only the individual user has access to his or her personal workspace.

Shared

A shared workspace is a workspace that can be accessed by multiple users. Each homepage in Axiom has its own shared workspace. Users are granted access to the shared workspaces associated with the homepages for which they have security role permissions. Examples of shared workspaces include, division or department spaces.

Schools can create as many different types of workspaces as they would like to help organize queries, records, and bookmarks around particular tasks or offices. Schools can create their own sub-workspaces, but top-level shared workspaces — which typically correspond to product modules — are managed by Veracross.

Learn more about setting up workspaces by visiting the following articles:

Workspace Accessibility

The ability to create, view, edit, and save to shared workspaces, such as department spaces, is controlled by the security role(s) that correspond to the appropriate department. For example, those with the “Admissions_1” security role can save to the “Admissions” shared workspace or Division Heads can save to their appropriate school level workspaces. These permissions are split into two different options of accessibility and are as follows:

  • Read-Write: users with write permissions can save new queries and edit/overwrite existing queries in the workspace
  • Read-Only: users with read-only permissions can view and run existing queries in the workspace, but cannot save or overwrite in the workspace

When looking at a workspace, if the user has read-only access, a small lock icon appears in the upper-right corner of the workspace. If the user has  read-write access to the workspace, then the lock will not appear.

Review Permissions

You can view which security roles have what accessibility to a specific workplace by looking at the Review Permissions option in the Organize menu when you are within the workspace. This displays all security roles that have access to this workspace and what type of access they have. Note that permissions that remove access (read-only) take precedence over permissions that grant access (read-write).

If you would like to adjust what security roles have access to a workspace and what type of access they are granted, speak with your Account Manager.