As of July 12, 2021, this "Learn Veracross" site has been deprecated. It will remain live at least through December 23, 2021, but will no longer be updated. Q&A articles are only visible to authenticated users in the Veracross Community; please speak with your implementation or account manager for additional information.
Channel security comes with more granularity and nuance than other areas to reflect the varying workflows that your communication office may have. It is important to fully comprehend how security for channels work so you can best utilize this functionality.
In its simplest terms:
- The Create Content tab determines how users can interact with their own content within the channel
- The View Content tab determines if the permissions granted through the "Create Content" tab extend to other users' content within the channel. A user with an active security role can also select this channel from the dropdown menu in Composer, allowing them to create content in Composer to this channel.
To understand this better, let's look at three different scenarios and how different combinations affect what they can do within the channel.
|Permissions||What Can They Actually Do|
|User can write new content and publish/edit any content (including others) in the channel.|
|User can write, publish, and edit their own content and send it through this channel, but cannot view other users' content in this channel.|
|User can create their own content via Composer and save it to the channel, as well as view other users' content in the channel, but cannot edit or publish any content through the channel.|
You may also find the following articles helpful: