Catalog Item Listing

Overview

The catalog item listing is the complete price list of goods and services offered by a school to its students. These can consist of tuition-related items (e.g.  tuition fee, matriculation fee, financial aid), school-related supplies and fees (e.g. book fees, lab fees, uniform costs), and extra-curricular fees (e.g. choral fees, team fees, field-trip and activity fees). Anything that the school “sells” to its students should be incorporated in the price list.

At many schools, the list of items can be quite extensive, so the Veracross system allows users to group items in user-defined categories. These categories serve as aids for logical grouping and sorting of items on various reports and forms.

Entering New Catalog Item Categories

Catalog Item Categories are used simply to allow for organizing groups of catalog items. By default, each Veracross system is configured with a single category named “General.” If your school environment has few price catalog items, then the single default category may be sufficient.

To add additional categories, navigate to the System homepage and click + Add a Catalog Category (also accessible from the Add ) menu.

Enter a Description and other information as desired, and then Add Catalog Category when done.

Updating and Deleting Catalog Item Categories

The description and sort key of catalog categories can be changed or the entire catalog deleted. To do either, first navigate to the System homepage and click Catalog Category Listing. Click the description to pull up the Catalog item detail screen.

Update a Category

Make the appropriate changes and click Update  when done. If you do not want to save your changes, simply navigate away from the page by click the the “Back” button on your browser or another link within Axiom. A dialog box will appear confirming that your changes will not be saved. Click “OK” to navigate away and lose any changes.

Delete a Category

If existing categories become unnecessary, you can delete them. You cannot delete a category that has assigned items. To verify that a category is empty prior to deletion, run a comprehensive Catalog Item report to verify that no items are assigned to the category you intend to delete.

To delete a catalog category, from the Category detail screen, click the ➕ Organize menu and then Delete. Select “Yes” when prompted to confirm.

Entering New Catalog Items

Catalog Items are critical components utilized in student billing, determining what a school “sells” and the cost of each item. Characteristics of the items determine to which students they do (or do not) apply, which general ledger account should be credited when items are charged, and whether an item is reflected as a positive or negative amount on a student’s account.

To add a new Catalog Item, navigate to the System homepage and click + Add a Catalog Item (also accessible from the Add ) menu.

A new Catalog Item detail screen will appear. Enter all relevant information and click Add Catalog Item when done.

Updating and Deleting Catalog Items

From time to time, changes may be required to existing catalog items, or they may need to be deleted. For instance, items may need to be altered each year to reflect increases (or decreases) in tuition rates. To do either, first navigate to the System homepage and click Catalog Item List. Click the description to pull up the Catalog item detail screen.

Update a Catalog Item

Make the appropriate changes and click Update  when done. If you do not want to save your changes, simply navigate away from the page by click the the “Back” button on your browser or another link within Axiom. A dialog box will appear confirming that your changes will not be saved. Click “OK” to navigate away and lose any changes.

Delete a Catalog Item

If existing catalog items become unnecessary, you can delete them. You cannot delete a category that has linked accounting transactions (e.g., student charge items or AR invoice items).

To delete a catalog category, from the Category detail screen, click the ➕ Organize menu and then Delete. Select “Yes” when prompted to confirm.