Organization and Management for Workspaces

Workspace Organization

WorkspaceWorkspaces are organized into four main sections:

  1. Workspaces: contains all sub-workspaces displayed as cards;
  2. Queries: a list of all saved queries;
  3. Bookmarks: a list of all bookmarked queries;
  4. Records: a list of all bookmarked records.

Additional notes for the entire workspace can also be added in the Notes column at the right of the screen. To add or edit Notes, select the “edit” button in the Notes column. A rich text editor box will appear for writing. When done, click save to publish notes.

Workspace Item Sorting

Items within a workspace can be sorted and searched using the sort dropdown and search box in the workspace header. Sort options can either be saved in ascending or descending order. By default all sort options start with descending; to switch between the two options, first set the sort to the desired option, then select it again to switch to ascending.

There are five sort options:

  1. Description: (default option) all subworkspaces, queries, bookmarks, and records are sorted alphabetically by description.
  2. Starred: workspaces with the most number of items are sorted first. Queries, bookmarks, and records that have been starred are sorted first with the item description being used as the sorting tie-breaker.
  3. Date Saved: displays date saved information in the audit log section for queries, bookmarks, and records and sorts items by those dates.
  4. Date Modified: displays date modified information in the audit log section for queries, bookmarks, and records and sorts items by those dates.
  5. Query Last Run: displays last run date and time information in the audit log section for queries. This sort option only applies to queries.

The search applies to all visible properties within each item. If users would like to search for queries by the last time they were run, the sort option must be set to “Query Last Run” so the “last run” data is displayed in the audit log section.

Organizing Using Sub-Workspaces

The method of organizing content within workspaces is to create sub-workspaces within the primary workspace. For example, within the primary workspace for the Upper School division, sub-workspaces may include Attendance, Student Dashboard, U.S. Grades, etc. Appropriate queries, bookmarks, and records can then be saved to workspaces as necessary. Learn more about that process by visiting the “Using Workspaces” article.

All sub-workspaces within the primary workspace are displayed as cards. Workspaces that have saved content are yellow and shows an item count in the card header of how many items (queries, bookmarks, records) it contains. Empty workspaces are blue.

Workspace Management

Those with write permission to create and edit workspaces have a host of options for further organizing workspaces and sub-workspaces within Axiom.

Managing Personal Workspaces

To create a personal workspace for an Axiom user, navigate to that person record and select “Create Personal Workspace” from the Action menu. System Administrator access is required for this.

Personal workspaces cannot be deleted by a school. Schools wishing to delete a user’s personal workspace should contact their account manager.

Adding New WorkspacesCreating Sub-Workspaces

Sub-workspaces can be created by selecting the green “Add Workspace” button from within the primary or personal workspace. A new workspace card will appear. Enter the name of the sub-workspace and select the “Save” button.

Editing a Sub-Workspace

If changes need to be made to the workspace, hover over the card until the “Edit” button appears and click on it. The name can then be changed. All workspaces must have a unique name. Attempting to update a workspace card with a duplicate title will disable the save button.

Deleting a Sub-Workspace

Sub-workspaces can be removed by anyone that has access to it, regardless of who originally created it. To remove a sub-workspace, hover over the card until the “Edit” button appears and click on it. If the workspace is empty, that is contains no items, a red “X” will be visible in the upper-right corner of the card. Click the X to remove the card. For all workspaces that contain items, the red X delete button will be disabled. If the workspace needs to be deleted, remove all items first and then the X delete button will appear.

Moving a Sub-Workspace

Sub-workspaces can be moved to other workspaces and sub-workspaces using the  action menu item from that workspaces main page. From the action menu item, select the “Move Workspace” option. A list of all workspaces for the school will appear organized by workspace type: shared or user. Users can only move workspaces to those they have permission to edit. Uneditable workspaces are distinguished by a lock icon. Select the primary or sub-workspace that will become the new location, and then click the green “Move Workspace” button.

Note: Moving a Workspace to a new location will change the read and write access permissions to reflect that of the new parent Workspace.

Assigning Workspaces to a Homepage

By default, a link to the appropriate shared primary workspace is located on each homepage. Although all available workspaces are listed as cards on the workspaces page, there may be times when a user wants a particular workspace to appear on a homepage as well for more convenient access.

To assign a sub-workspace to a homepage, use the action menu item and select the “Assign to Homepage” option. A list of all homepages and sub-homepages that the user has access to will appear. Select the homepage section where the sub-workspace should be assigned, and then click the green “Assign Workspace” button.

To remove it from a homepage, simply assign it to “None.”