As of July 12, 2021, this "Learn Veracross" site has been deprecated. It will remain live at least through July 2022, but will no longer be updated. All knowledge content has moved to the new Veracross Community. Please update your bookmarks.
A modified query can be saved to allow the school to regularly access the query without the need to readjust the fields, criteria, and other settings each time. Queries get saved or bookmarked into personal or shared Workspaces.
Visit the documentation on workspaces for more details on how saved and bookmarked queries are organized.
Saving a Query
Once a query has been modified, it is possible to save the query for future use. Saving a query allows the user to choose a name for the saved query, choose the Workspace the query should be saved into, and also decide whether that newly saved query should be displayed in their Favorites.
To save a query, click on the Organize Menu, which is the plus (+) button to the right of the “Run Query” button at the top of the screen, and select “Save to Workspaces”. In the window that appears, enter the query name into the “Description” box, select the appropriate Workspace from the list of workspaces that the user has access to, toggle the “Favorites” option as needed, choose between saving it as a Bookmark or a New Query, and then click the green “Save New Query” button at the bottom.
Queries may not be saved if there are any fields that have over 2000 characters in their criteria.
Renaming a Query
Queries may be renamed even after they have been created. To rename a query, navigate to the “Query Properties” panel on the Query Design screen. Update the query to the new name and save the new query description by overwriting the query, just like any other change. To overwrite a query, you can save changes with by pressing “Ctrl+S” (PC) or “⌘+S” (Mac), or by going to the “Organize Menu” and clicking “Overwrite Query”. Bookmarks that reference this query will automatically be updated to use the new description, and the new query description will immediately be searchable in Launchpad Search.
Deleting a Query
To remove a saved query from a workspace, open the workspace where the query resides, click the "Edit" button and then the red "X" next to queries to delete.
If a query has been bookmarked by a specific user, and the owner of the query deletes the query, all of the bookmarks pointing to that query will also be deleted. When a query has been saved, it then becomes an individual query. If a query has been saved in multiple places each instance of the query must be deleted individually.
Resetting the Query to the Original State
Users are able to reset the query back to the original state by using the gear icon at the top right corner of the query field list and selecting “Reset Query”. This will remove all criteria set on the query by the user, for example any values that were set for fields, any sorting that had been indicated, rearrangement of fields, display formatting, etc.
Query Results Actions
Once the user has produced the desired results within the query, there are several actions that they can take with the results. Query results actions can be selected from a drop-down menu by clicking the Action Menu .
Batch Updating Records
This action is used to quickly update any selected record in the results grid, or ALL records in the results grid if none are selected. To apply this action to records in a query, select the “batch update records” option from the action drop-down menu.
In the window that appears, select the field to be updated, and then select the new value to be applied to that field. Click the “+ Add Field” link to add additional fields to be updated. Click the green “Update” button at the bottom of the window to run the procedure.
Please Note: Only updatable fields can be batch updated in this manner. For more information on real and calculated fields, please visit the documentation on Queries & Results Overview.
Exporting Data to Excel
Query results visualized as a data grid can be exported from either the design or results screen as an Excel file. To do this, select “Export to Excel” from the Action menu in the query design view or the data grid results view.
In the window that then appears, click the green “Export” button to run the procedure, and the file will automatically download to the computer.
Exported files maintain the same field properties and formatting as the query results, so renamed fields, column order, background colors, etc. will be included on the exported spreadsheet.
Queries may not be exported to Excel or a csv file if there are any fields that have over 2000 characters in their criteria.
Composing Emails for Selected Recipients
The user can compose an email message based on query results.
For example: if the user ran a “Find Students” query to generate a list of all students in 9th grade, he/she could then create an email message to those students based on the results list.
To compose an email from results, there must be an email field in the query. The user must first click the query results action button (lightning bolt) and choose the "compose email for selected recipients" option, then select the desired email field from the drop-down menu and then click the green "launch composer" button.
The email message composer allows the user to choose between building a complex email message (which can include images, files, videos, etc.) or a rich text message (which consists only of text). Within the composer, user can set the details of the email (subject line, sender name, etc.), create the content of the email, select the email recipients from the list of results records, preview and test his/her message, and send the message.
Printing Results Grid
All results from one query can be printed using the Print Results Grid printing option from the Action Menu .
Learn more about Printing in Axiom.
Background Action Items
Background Action Items triggered from the Action Menu on a homepage will run in the background, which means that the user can close the menu, and even the browser, while the procedure runs. The user will be notified when the procedure completes on any device currently logged in (typically the browser window), whether successful or not. Multiple actions may be run simultaneously. Note several aspects of background procedures:
- When a process is queued or running in the background, the lighting bolt ⚡ on the Action Menu flashes.
- When a procedure completes successfully, a green check appears next to the lightning bolt.
- When a procedures fails, a red exclamation appears.
- A notice about an action item does not go away by itself. The user must dismiss the notification.
- Opening the Action Menu will show you all Action Items you have running. When you actually run a new Action Item, that screen only shows the status for the one you just ran.