How do I remove a record from the Duplicate list once I see that they are truly not a duplicate?

To protect a record from being merged during the deduping process, navigate to the Other tab and set the Surviving Record to be itself. The record is then removed from the dupe group in the overnight process, or by forcing the deduping list to refresh using the “Find Duplicate…” procedure on the System homepage. This also removes the record from its Dupe Group on the Potential Duplicates reports.